The Day Before I Leave

I’m writing this as I sit on my living room couch in America for the last time, at least for a year. There’s so much uncertainty running through my mind right now, from fears that something will go wrong to nerves that I won’t have all of my documentation ready in time. (I’m looking at you, Walgreens. Apparently, same-day pickup for photos is a lie.)

Despite all of the anxiety I’m feeling, I’m also really excited. I’ve said goodbye to many people, some goodbyes harder than I ever thought they would be. For some reason, it feels as if I’m saying goodbye forever. I’m not, though. The internet means I’m never truly away from those that I love. I can facetime my friends. I can watch all of the movies/tv shows they’re watching. I might be on the other side of the world but we can still all be connected. I think that’s pretty awesome.

group hand fist bump
Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

There’s not much to say,  but there’s also not much that I know. All I know is that tomorrow I will be boarding a plane to South Korea, one-way ticket in hand, and I will be starting a new life full of new adventures.

Here’s to it.

architecture buildings city cityscape
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Leave a comment