Coming Back

It’s been a while. I moved to Korea in August of 2018, and it’s now almost February of 2019. A lot has changed, both personally and professionally.

  1. I’m officially an English teacher. I may still have the mentality of a college student, but I’m in charge of teaching Korean middle school students English. It’s both the toughest and most fun challenge I’ve taken on so far.
  2. I’m dealing with changes in my diet, changes that I’m not proud of but I’m trying to become better at. Let’s just leave it at being vegan in Korea is harder than I thought it would be and if anyone has any tips on getting my groove back please share them.

Most importantly, though, and why I’m starting to make blog posts again, is that I’ve decided I’m going to take the TOPIK II test this November. My goal is to get 5급, That’s the second highest level, and many people might think is too high of a goal for someone who’s only been studying Korean since November 2017. To that, I say that you might be right. You might be wrong. The only way we’ll truly find out is once I take the test and get my results back.

In thinking about my next steps after TEFL, I discovered the world of interpreting and translation and now all I want to do is become a translator or interpreter. This is my first test of whether or not that is the path I should be on. I know I’m still going to be teaching English for at least two more years, but after that maybe grad school?

This is my life now. I’m going to Thailand in a few days so I’ll be sure to include pictures from that on this blog, but this is mostly something to encourage me and others with lofty goals. I’m going to get Level 5 TOPIK this November, and when I do I’ll know that nothing I want to do in life is impossible.

 

See you next time Travellers.

Leave a comment